Mac Version of the program

Dieter

Mac Version of the program

Post by Dieter » Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:41 pm

I like the program very much and it would be great if a Mac version would be available. Is it possible?

Dave
Site Admin

Re: Mac Version of the program

Post by Dave » Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:56 am

Hi Dieter. Thanks for the kind words. I understand the question, and believe me, I get the irony of an iOS app requiring a Windows PC to work. And I also know that TouchControl will never get the love form Apple as long as it doesn't work with a Mac. I had a whole history of TouchControl written up here explaining where the Windows angle came from, and deleted it. None of it really answered the question of "is it possible". The short answer is, yes, of course it's possible. The real answer is, probably not any time soon. I'm an independent developer - i.e. I have a "real" job and not nearly as many cycles as I'd like to devote to TouchControl. Those of you out there that I've had more than a couple of interactions with know that I do most of my development and support of TC well after the rest of humanity has gone to sleep (like right now!). And after 6 years of piling feature after feature into TouchControl and TouchControl Server, it feels like I'm farther than ever away from being able to port it to a new platform. Does that mean it will never happen? Certainly not. I don't plan to quit on TouchControl any time soon. I don't make a living from TouchControl (far from it), but I also don't do it for that. I love the creativity side of it, I love the challenges, and I love working with people all over the world (literally!) who have plunked down their hard earned $7 USD to try out something that I created from scratch, and many of whom have taken it WAY farther than I ever imagined it could go.